The Ugly Duckling

I love this passage out of the latest O Magazine:

20140803-204203-74523316.jpg

I made a promise to a friend a while back that I wouldn’t ever settle, but am I?

My son and I went to Atlanta’s Center for Puppetry Arts this weekend and saw a show about the other ugly duckling. I cried a little at the end (no one was shocked) because the message reminded me of something that I keep forgetting. Your beauty is within. My beauty is within. I devalue myself more than I should because I don’t have the perfect body but what really matters is my heart. How much I love. How big I love. How pure I love.

I plan to keep my promise not to settle because no matter what size I wear, I am worth it because my heart will be in the right place.

P.S. I sent this before and after shot to my boyfriend and, while all I see is a fat face, his response is perfect and says it all – “Still the same amazingly sweet girl.” Now that will be my response when I see an old picture of me instead of my usual disgust.

20140803-204138-74498758.jpg

One thought on “The Ugly Duckling

Leave a Reply

