Perfect Start to the Week

Don’t you just love a good Monday?  Sounds like an oxymoron, right?  It’s so important to get your week off to a good start.  It’s the man-made restart.  Diets and workout routines around the world are starting back today, and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that.  Of course it would be better if we could all maintain throughout the weekend, but that doesn’t always happen.  So here in the real world, we restart on Monday.  We go to church on Sundays to get our minds right (I listened to a very inspiring message on falling forward) and Mondays we get our bodies back on their programs – back in the gym and back to healthy eating.

This morning was a good start to the week for me.  For starters, I attended church Sunday (yesterday) to get my mind right and then I made a plan that put me first.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to workout Monday night due to an event at ROC House I’ll be attending so I planned on running in the morning instead. I dislike running (right up there with pushups) and getting up early to workout (my bed is really comfortable, especially at 5am). This morning, however, it just all fell in place for me to do both. I woke up 10 min before my 5am alarm which use to annoy me, but now I look at it as a good thing because I wasn’t woken up artificially from a deep slumber.  Then my dad called at 4:57 because I texted (yes, it’s a word) him last week that I needed those wake up calls this week (that was me making a plan to catch myself slipping #knowyourself).  He was very pleasant, and I knew I’d have to answer to him about how far I ran so I hoisted myself out of my cloud and got moving. I put away some laundry, started the dishwasher, turned on the Keurig, got dressed, snapped my heart rate monitor in place and hit start on my RunKeeper app.  I was off!  I ran a good bit of the 2.28 miles (I typically do more of a run-walk) and shaved off about a minute from my usual 1-3 mile pace (which I find to be a very helpful and motivating feature on this app). On my run I just happened to look down at the right moment to see nature’s love and thought this would be the perfect forum to share it.

image

Then on the way to work I stopped at Kroger to get some fuel with my fuel points and voila – $2.87 per gallon!  I was thrilled!  $0.50 off per gallon!  I try not to be bossy but seriously people – get your prescriptions filled at Kroger at the very least.  Let your insurance companies pay for your fuel points and then use them each month before they expire.

I know I will annoy some people at work today but I mean it sincerely this time when I say, Happy Monday!

My next blog post will be about how diets don’t work but I need to do some research before I hit “POST”.  I hope you have a great week!

Leave a Reply

